7th Xanthomonas Genomics Conference 2022

Important News

  • 7th International Xanthomonas Conference rescheduled for June 2022
  • Speakers Confirmed for 2022!


Upcoming Deadlines

Early Bird Registration and Abstract Submission:
To be announced at a later date

Student Travel Award Application:
To be announced at a later date

Student and Post Doc Oral Presentation Competition:
To be announced at a later date

Regular Registration and Abstract Submission:
To be announced at a later date

Travel Information

Airport: Tampa International Airport

Local transportation: Taxi, shuttle (reserveusingJayride.com).If you have questions related to local transportation, please contact Jinyun Li at jinyunli@ufl.edu

VISA information: (Please apply for visa if necessary. Visitor Visa is normally required. Generally, a citizen of a foreign country who wishes to enter the United States must first obtaina visa.Visitor visas are nonimmigrant visas for persons who want to enter the United States temporarily for business (visacategoryB-1), for tourism (visacategoryB-2), or for a combination of both purposes (B-1/B-2).

Request invitation letter: Please contact Erica Watson Carter at ewcarter@ufl.edu

7th Xanthomonas Genomics Conference Florida 2022
June 13th-17th, 2022 in SHERATON SAND KEY RESORT
1160 Gulf Boulevard, Clearwater Beach, FL 33767, USA

***Last Day to Book Hotel: 13th May 2022***

Book your group rate for 7th Xanthomonas Genomics Conference 


The theme of the conference is: sequence, mechanism, application. The conference will focus on genomics, diagnostics, epidemiology, virulence mechanism, plant defense, and disease control of members of the genus Xanthomonas and Xylella.

The conference will have the following sessions

  1. Session: Genomics
  2. Session: Diagnostics, and epidemiology
  3. Session: Pathogenicity mechanisms
  4. Session: Type III secretion and effector proteins
  5. Session: Other secretion systems
  6. Session: Disease control
  7. Session: Plant defense and resistance
  8. Session: Gene Regulation
  9. Session: Other


Arrival and registration on June 13, 2022 (Monday), reception

June 14, 2022 (Tuesday), meeting day 1

June 15, 2022 (Wednesday), meeting day 2, afternoon field trip

June 16, 2022 (Thursday), meeting day 3, Theme Party Dinner

June 17, 2022 (Friday), morning to noon, meeting.

Confirmed Speakers

Ulla Bonas

Jianmin Zhou

Bing Yang

Leonardo de la Fuente 

Caroline Roper

Joao Setubal

Staskawicz, Brian

Sebastian Cunnac

Alvaro Pérez

Libo Shan

Ricardo Oliva

Cristina Eliza Alvarez Martinez

Jonathan Jacobs

Prabhu Patil

Wei Qian

Mary Beth Mudgett

Daniela Büttner

Scientific Advisory Committee

Dr. Jan Leach, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Dr. Adam J. Bogdanove, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
Dr. Ralf Koebnik, Research Institute for Development, Montpellier, France
Dr. GongyouChen, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China
Dr. Chuck Shaker Farah, University of Sao Paulo, São Paulo, SP, Brazil
Dr. Jaime Cubero, National Institute of Agricultural and Food Research and Technology | INIA, Madrid, Spain
Dr. Seiji Tsuge, Kyoto Prefectural University, Kyoto, Japan
Dr. Alessandra Alves de Souza, Centro APTA Citros'Sylvio Moreira' –IAC, Cordeirópolis, SP, Brasil
Dr. Subhadeep Chatterjee, Centre for DNA Fingerprinting and Diagnostics,Nampally, Hyderabad, India

Immediate past organizer: Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas

Organization Committee

Organizer: Prof. Dr. Nian Wang, University of Florida
Committee members:
Dr. Jeffrey Jones, University of Florida
Dr. Frank White, University of Florida
Dr. James H Graham, University of Florida
Dr. Gary Vallad, University of Florida
Dr. Erica Goss, University of Florida
Dr. Evan Johnson, University of Florida
Dr. Neha Potnis, Auburn University
Dr. JinyunLi, University of Florida
Erica Watson Carter, University of Florida