Skip to main content


UF/IFAS Citrus Research and Education Center

UF/IFAS Citrus Research and Education Center

People

Use this directory to contact and find more information about CREC faculty, staff, research assistants, and students. You may also contact FDOC professionals, and view email and phone contact information through the CREC directory.


Faculty


Dr. Michael Rogers

Dr. Michael Rogers

Center Director and Professor

(863) 956 - 5897 | mrgrs@ufl.edu

Dr. Rogers' responsibilities focus on the development and implementation of integrated pest management programs for citrus. Research examines the ecology of insect pests of citrus and the integration of chemical and biological control in the citrus system.

Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski

Dr. Kirsten Pelz-Stelinski

Associate Center Director and Professor Entomology

(863) 956 - 8666 | pelzstelinski@ufl.edu

Dr. Pelz-Stelinski's research program focuses on the biology and microbial ecology of insect vectors of plant diseases.

 Dr. John M. Chater

Dr. John M. Chater

Assistant Professor - Horticultural Sciences

(863) 956 - 8662 | jchater@ufl.edu 

Dr. Chater's program emphasis details citrus variety improvement; advanced selections in scion and rootstock field trials; fruit and juice quality and sensory analysis; optimizing grower selection; and more.

Dr. Michelle Danyluk

Dr. Michelle Danyluk

Professor - Food Science

(863) 956 - 8654 | mddanyluk@ufl.edu

Dr. Danyluk's research and extension interests include microbial food safety and quality, emphasizing the microbiology of fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts and juices.

Dr. Megan Dewdney

Dr. Megan Dewdney

Associate Professor - Plant Pathology & Extension Specialist

(863) 956 - 8651 | mmdewdney@ufl.edu

Dr. Dewdney's Extension responsibilities focus on integrated management and control measures for citrus canker and citrus greening with additional responsibilities for fungal pathogens.

Dr. Lauren M. Diepenbrock

Dr. Lauren M. Diepenbrock

Assistant Professor - Entomology

(863) 956 - 8801 | ldiepenbrock@ufl.edu

Dr. Diepenbrock's program emphasis is Integrated Pest Management and Insect Ecology.

Dr. Larry Duncan

Dr. Larry Duncan

Professor - Nematology

(863) 956 - 8821 | lwduncan@ufl.edu

Dr. Duncan's research focus is on the ecology and management of plant parasitic nematode pests of citrus and the ecology of entomopathogenic nematodes and their potential role in citrus IPM.

Dr. Manjul Dutt

Dr. Manjul Dutt

Research Assistant Scientist - Horticulture

(863) 956 - 8679 | manjul@ufl.edu

Dr. Dutt's research is primarily focused on citrus improvement using both conventional breeding tools and biotechnology. The breeding program is focused on the development of improved finger lime hybrids.

Dr. Choaa El-Mohtar

Dr. Choaa El-Mohtar

Research Assistant Scientist - Plant Pathology

(863) 956 - 8720 | mohtarc@ufl.edu

Dr. El-Mohtar's program works mainly with the development and the deployment of CTV infectious clones for basic science research and practical purposes (HLB/Asian citrus psyllid control).

Dr. Fred Gmitter

Dr. Fred Gmitter

Professor - Horticulture Science

(863) 956-8878 | fgmitter@ufl.edu

Dr. Gmitter's program emphasis is citrus breeding and genetics for variety improvement; genomic research to develop efficient ways to select improved plants and to enable cloning and manipulation of important genes.

Dr. Jude Grosser

Dr. Jude Grosser

Professor - Plant Cell Genetics

863-956-8680 | jgrosser@ufl.edu

Dr. Grosser's research program in citrus variety improvement addresses all major citrus production problems in Florida, and also strives to develop new cultivars that will provide growers with new marketing opportunities.

Dr. Davie M. Kadyampakeni

Dr. Davie M. Kadyampakeni

Assistant Professor | Soil & Water Science

(863) 956 - 8843 | dkadyampakeni@ufl.edu

Dr. Kadyampakeni's program emphasis includes developing and implementing sustainable strategies that optimize water management for citrus production, conservation of water, and water quality.

Dr. Nabil Killiny

Dr. Nabil Killiny

Associate Professor - Plant Pathology

(863) 956 - 8833 | nabilkilliny@ufl.edu

Dr. Killiny's research interests focus on the biology of pathogen-vector interfaces.

Dr. Amit Levy

Dr. Amit Levy

Assistant Professor - Plant Pathology

(863) 956 - 8704 | amitlevy@ufl.edu

Dr. Levy's general area of interest is the biology of pathogen-host interactions. One of the lab's research focuses is the biology and molecular characteristics of Citrus tristeza virus (CTV) infection.

Taylor O’Bannon

Taylor O’Bannon

State Specialized Extension - Agent, Food Safety

(352) 354 - 5006 | taylorlangford@ufl.edu

Taylor's current extension interests include microbial food safety emphasizing the safety of fresh fruits and vegetables. Taylor’s extension program includes teaching programs related to FSMA, HACCP, GAPs and other specialized food safety programs.

Dr. Ahmad Omar

Dr. Ahmad Omar

Research Assistant Scientist - Horticulture Science/Plant Biotechnology

(863) 956 - 8678 | omar71@ufl.edu

Dr. Omar's research focuses on citrus scion and rootstock improvement and understands disease resistance mechanism for citrus canker and HLB (Huanglongbing or citrus greening).

Dr. Arnold Schumann

Dr. Arnold Schumann

Professor - Soil & Water Science

(863) 956 - 8855 | schumaw@ufl.edu

Dr. Shumann's program emphasis is to identify soil spatial variability, its causes, and impacts on the environment, citrus growth, nutrition and yield.

 Dr. Ariel Singerman

Dr. Ariel Singerman

Associate Professor - Agricultural Economics

(863) 956 - 8870 | singerman@ufl.edu

Dr. Singerman is currently working on analyzing the economic feasibility of management strategies aimed at mitigating risks and improving productivity and profitability in agricultural production.

Dr. Lukasz Stelinski

Dr. Lukasz Stelinski

Professor - Entomology and Nematology

(863) 956-8851 | stelinski@ufl.edu

Dr. Stelinski's research focuses on development of integrated management strategies for insect pest control in citrus.

Dr. Tripti Vashisth

Dr. Tripti Vashisth

Associate Professor - Horticultural Sciences and Citrus Extension Specialist

(863) 956-8846 | tvashisth@ufl.edu

Dr. Vashisth's Extension responsibilities focus on citrus production needs and implementing horticultural practices to improve citrus production, tree health and fruit quality.

Dr. Christopher Vincent

Dr. Christopher Vincent

Assistant Professor - Horticultural Sciences

(863) 956 - 8757 | civince@ufl.edu

Dr. Vincent's program emphasis is to serve Florida perennial fruit crop producers with production methods and biological understanding to improve productivity of citrus crops and additional crops and cropping systems in the traditional citrus region.

Dr. Nian Wang

Dr. Nian Wang

Professor - Microbiology and Cell Science

 (863) 956 - 8828 | nianwang@ufl.edu

Dr. Wang's program ephasis  is molecular genetics and functional genomics of plant-bacteria interactions and methods to control citrus diseases caused by Citrus Greening and Citrus Canker.

Dr. Yu Wang

Dr. Yu Wang

Associate Professor - Food Science

(863) 956 - 8673 | yu.wang@ufl.edu

Dr. Wang's research focuses on food chemistry and quality, emphasizing the flavor (aroma and taste) of fruits, herbs and other agricultural commodities.

Emeritus Faculty


Braddock Robert

Robert Braddock
Professor Emeritus
rjbk@ufl.edu

 Dr. Ron Brlansky

Ron Brlansky
Plant Pathology
863-956-5889
rhby@ufl.edu

 Browning Harold

Harold Browning
Professor Emeritus
hwbr@ufl.edu

Dr. William S. Castle

William Castle
Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Science
bcastle@ufl.edu

Dr. Carl C. Childers

Carl C. Childers
Professor Emeritus
ccc1957@ufl.edu

Dr. Mike Davis

Mike Davis
Professor Emeritus
Plant Pathology
mjdavis@ufl.edu

Bill Dawson

Bill Dawson
Professor Emeritus
Plant Pathology
wodtmv@ufl.edu

 

Dr. Ed Etxeberria

Ed Etxeberria
Professor Emeritus
Plant Pathology
eetxeber@ufl.edu

Dr. Siddarame Gowda

Siddarame Gowda
Professor Emeritus
Associate in Virology
gowda@ufl.edu

Dr. Jim Graham

Jim Graham
Professor Emeritus
Soil Microbiology
863-956-8660
jhgraham@ufl.edu

 Miller William

William Miller
Professor Emeritus
wmmiller@ufl.edu

 Nigg Herb

Herbert Nigg
Professor Emeritus
hnn@ufl.edu

Joe Noling

Joe Noling
Professor Emeritus
Nematology
863-956-8633
jnoling@ufl.edu

Dr. Larry Parsons

Lawrence Parsons
Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Science
863-956-5889
lparsons@ufl.edu

Dr. Russell Rouseff

Russell Rouseff
Professor Emeritus
Food Science
rrouseff@ufl.edu

Dr. Masoud Salyani

Masoud Salyani
Professor Emeritus
Agricultural and Biological Engineering
863-956-5889
msi@ufl.edu

Dr. Megh Singh

Megh Singh
Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Science
863-956-5889
msingh@ufl.edu

Dr. James Syvertsen

James Syvertsen
Professor Emeritus
Horticultural Science
jmsn@ufl.edu

Timmer Pete

Lavern "Pete" Timmer
Professor Emeritus
lwtimmer@ufl.edu

Whitney Jodie

Jodie Whitney
Professor Emeritus
jwhitney@ufl.edu

Students and Research Assistants

Here, you may locate students and research assistants by program and the faculty members with whom they work.

Graduate Students Listed Alphabetically (PDF)
Postdoctoral Research Associate Listed Alphabetically (PDF)


Entomology and Nematology

Food Science

Horticultural Sciences

Plant Pathology

Soil and Water Science

FDOC


Dr. Rosa Walsh

Dr. Rosa Walsh
Scientific Research Director
863-537-3959
863.956.8836
rwalsh@citrus.myflorida.com

Ms. Gail Rampersaud - FDOC

Gail Rampersaud
Registered Dietitian
gcr@citrus.myflorida.com

Tony Trama - FDOC
Tony Trama

Chemist
863.956.9939

blank place holder

Dorothy McLean
Chemist
863.956.8839